Radio Lab-
I think you [Eric Young] mentioned this last time in class and my reaction hasn't changed since hearing it reiterated on RadioLab.
These are the new internet pirates. Well, internet ghost pirates.
There's not even a place we can go to and beat them up or threaten them for the acts their carrying out.
I don't like it at all. I feel vulnerable because I don't possess the kind of skills to fight back if need be.
It's a freaky situation all around.
First off, our FBI can't even shut them down..
That's most definitely a problem in itself.
They [internet pirates] do such a successful job at keeping their business running and keeping it out of sight from anyone that tries to threaten it. So there's that. TWO WEEKS and their site was back up.
Our FBI can't do anything and I'm no code expert, so I sure as hell wouldn't be able to do shit about it.
This woman had to pay $500!
I definitely don't have that amount of money laying around and I especially don't have it to pay off some crazies to regain my stolen, locked files.
After class on Tuesday I had an epiphany (I guess that would be the best word.)
We are so insanely stupid and unaware and careless that we're letting this happen to ourselves.
After watching the TedTalk about cameras being able to track our license plates all over the country, I had a mini panic attack.
To think this happens all the time is unsettling. I never know when I'm being watched and that does not sit well with me at all.
I went through so many scenarios and options of what I can do to stop this from happening to me and everyone else and the only thing I really came up with was rioting because we know protest don't do anything.. Which rioting isn't cool and it's dangerous so I would rather not do that to begin with. But somehow that's the only option I came up with. And I wouldn't be just me out there trying to do something, everyone must come together to try and stop this invasion of privacy and the raw slaughter of basic human rights.
The citizens of this country that believe our government can do no wrong are stupid.
And I mean stupid with all of the power that comes along with those six letters.
Our government is spying on us and if we would of looked into it, easily we would've known about this and been able to figure out what was going on even before Mr. Snowden leaked the information he did.
We allow this to happen to us by not caring enough and not standing up for our rights.
(Hope you all sang the Beastie Boy's song)
Unfortunately, I don't know enough about this to even come up with a realistic solution.
It's like the Wild West or pirates and the shitty thing is that we can't arm ourselves with guns for protection. We're fighting ghost. The only way we can fight back is with knowledge. Coming personally from me, I don't posses that so therefore I'm extremely underarmed.
Like the founder of Darkodes, the younger generation is raised in this environment of technology where they are exposed to the answers. Whether they decide to use this and arm themselves is entirely up to them.
I think RadioLab did an excellent job as always.
Thanks for getting the Beastie Boys stuck in my head.
ReplyDelete